An Orlando Car Accident Lawyer Reveals How
When you are injured in a car accident caused by a drunk driver, the fallout from the crash can be overwhelming. The situation can be frustrating, too, when you realize the accident easily could have been avoided if the at-fault driver had made a phone call – or used an app on their smartphone – to arrange for a safe trip home via a ridesharing service such as Uber or Lyft.
A study published in the “Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs” found the increased use of rideshare services corresponds with fewer alcohol-related accidents. The study, by the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, compared 962 alcohol-related crashes in Chicago with 962 accidents not involving alcohol.
According to the study, an increase of one ridership per square mile lessened the chances of an alcohol-related accident by .2%. That number is small but is based on a single rideshare trip. In communities where ridesharing is common, the consequences could mean a significant positive impact on public safety.
Said Christopher Morrison, PhD, assistant professor of epidemiology at Columbia Mailman School: “These results are consistent with the suggestion that ridesharing replaces impaired-driver trips.” In other words – fewer accidents, injuries, and deaths.
Drunk Driving Laws
The toll of drunk driving accidents in Florida is evident in the numbers. According to responsibility.org, the state recorded 814 alcohol-related traffic fatalities in 2018, which represented 26% of all traffic deaths.
Violators face stiff legal penalties. Among them are:
- Fines of $500 (first offense) to $5,000 (third offense).
- Additional fines of $2,000 (first offense) to $4,000 (third offense) for blood alcohol level of .15 or higher, or the presence of a minor in the vehicle.
- Prison terms of six months (first offense) to 10 years (a third offense that occurred within 10 years of prior conviction).
Other potential penalties include impoundment of vehicle and license revocation. In addition, someone who causes property damage or personal injury is guilty of a first-degree misdemeanor, which can mean a fine of up to $1,000 or one year in prison.
The penalties are far more severe after fatal accidents. Fines can total $10,000, prison terms run as high as 30 years, and the driver can permanently lose his or her license.
Filing a Claim Against a Drunk Driver
Despite the dangers, far too many Floridians continue to drive under the influence of alcohol instead of using a rideshare service. If you were hit by a drunk driver, you have the right to seek compensation for all your losses, including your medical bills and lost wages. The key is to talk to an attorney right away to get a clear understanding of your legal rights and options.
At The Cerasa Law Firm LLC, we understand that your goals are healing from your injuries, recovering the financial compensation you deserve, and moving on from your accident. Those are our goals too. Attorney Michael Cerasa has been successfully representing crash victims in the Orlando and Central Florida region for years. Discover what he can do for you. Contact us today for a free consultation with an experienced Orlando car accident attorney.